Tags

,

After a really stressful week at work, a spot of crochet helps me relax. A hot cup of tea, some colourful yarn and a new pattern are all it takes to restore some peace in my head.

Today I started a project which uses a pattern from http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/  a Blog written by Lucy. She loves crochet and writes patterns for other people to enjoy. 

Image

Here’s the pattern link http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/crochet-bag.html

Image

I decided to change it slightly by crocheting two rows of each colour rather than one, and using less colours overall.

The photo below shows how far I’ve progressed today – a work in progress – and I’m happy with it so far.

Image

I watched my Great Aunt crocheting as a child and was amazed how a simple hook and thread could create such beautiful things. I was determined to crochet too but had to learn to hold the hook in my right hand as no-one could teach me left-handed. Since then I’ve always found crocheting to be calming but creative. It gives me peace and thinking-time whenever I pick up yarn and hook.

When I’m crafting I find relaxation. I can create something unique, one of a kind and, hopefully, be proud of the result. Playing at craft restores calm to my life and helps me re-focus ready for the week ahead. I’m sure many of you reading this will know just what I mean.

