Tags

, ,

To succeed in life, you need three things: a wishbone, a backbone and a funnybone.
Reba McEntire

It’s very early days in my quilting life. I bought a new sewing machine in Summer 2011 and, having always admired beautiful quilts, I wanted to learn how to make them. Play at another craft I suppose.

I have only completed three quilts since then. My fourth quilt, and by far the most time-consuming, is a Serendipity Quilt as demonstrated by The Missouri Star Quilt Company here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7DFo-mIa47A . In fact there are two quilts made with their technique, but the first one’s taking me long enough by itself!

I’m using a jelly roll and fabric squares that I have cut myself from a lovely Moda fabric line. This photo perhaps gives a clue to the amount of work involved in this quilt. By sewing three fabric strips together and cutting them into squares, it’s supposed to prevent lots of fiddly sewing. I’m sure it does, but it still took me ages to get this far!

Image

It is the largest quilt I’ve attempted so far. Has that something to do with my slow progress? No, it’s just me taking forever.

Below is a photo of the quilt top spread out on my bed today.

Image

I’ve yet to add a border. I have all the material for the border. I have the backing. I even have the batting. What I don’t have is the time!

I’m desperate to finish the quilt top and get to the quilting stage – my favourite part – where I can make this quilt uniquely mine.

Image

And when I do finally complete quilt number four, there’s all the extra squares (pictured above) made with this Serendipity technique for me to play with! Here’s to Quilt Number Five, if I ever get there!

