Tags

, ,

‘Indecision may or may not be my problem.’
Jimmy Buffett

I’ve started a new project. A ripple pattern crochet blanket for my daughter who has just moved to a new flat. The flat is in desperate need of some colour – all rented homes seem to be decorated in bland, boring, uninspiring colours don’t they?

Image

Her favourite colour is purple so that just had to be in the colour choice and I’ve added in shades of lilac and blue.

Image

Once begun, do you choose your next colour for a project randomly or in strict order? I cannot bring myself to randomise the colours. To dip into my wool bag and pull out the next colour, where Fate takes charge of the process, is not for me! What if the new colour clashes with the last one? What if I keep using too much of one shade so that it dominates the project? No, I’m an ordered girl, with the colours planned out in detail beforehand. I like to see my planned pattern emerging as I crochet. Perhaps it’s a character flaw? Whatever it is – however much this reveals of my Inner Self – I cannot bring myself to randomise my colour choice.

Image

Planning this blanket, I laid out my 10 colours and arranged them in the order most pleasing to my eye, then started to crochet. At the point where I needed to start back onto the first colour again, Indecision took hold!

Repeat the colours exactly as before? Reverse their order? Decisions. Decisions.

Image

Reverse Order won the day and I’m pleased with the results so far. Unfortunately, with the colour repeat I’ve now chosen, the deepest purple (Daughter’s favourite) and the deepest blue shades appear less often than the other colours.

Image

Oh well. Maybe I should have taken longer planning the colour repeat – or Randomised after all!

