Tags

, ,

I’m working on my PhD in Sewing

(Projects Half Done) – Anon

I’ve had a sudden burst of enthusiasm today and tried to complete the Serendipity Quilt I am making for my younger daughter. It’s been in the cupboard for quite a while as I’ve been completing (and starting) other projects.

Image

Today I’ve trimmed the quilt to make it rectangular and cut and sewn on the binding.

Image

Below are a couple of photos of the details. I used red thread to stitch in the ditch and green thread for a flower stitch and loopy stitch (I don’t know what else to call it!)

 Image

Image

I had intended to sew the binding by hand today but, whilst pinning it down, the head came off a flat-headed pin and the end went under my nail into my finger! Ouch! Ouch!

So I have packed the quilt away once again until my sore finger is better and I get enough time to do the final touches. I have still to sew in the hundreds of loose thread ends and stitch down the binding, but I’m very happy that the end is in sight. No doubt my daughter will be too!

