Tags

, , , , ,

“I just want to make beautiful things even if nobody cares” madebysean.com

After a very difficult week at work where my stress levels were sky high, a bit of simple sewing at the weekend kept me sane.

I found a needle case pattern by Mandy Shaw at Dandelion Designs that really appealed to me. It’s something simple, but pretty and useful. You can find it here http://www.dandeliondesigns.co.uk/acatalog/Bag_and_Pouch_Patterns.html

Mandy lives in Sussex, the same County as me. I have never managed to get onto one of her sewing courses though as they are very popular and sell out quickly. Her pattern includes both machine sewing and hand-sewing. Much as I love machine sewing for the speed with which a project can come together, I also love hand sewing as I find it very relaxing, and was just what I needed this weekend.

Here’s my finished needle case and the pattern from Mandy’s website:

102_3962The most impressive thing about this pattern for me is the surprise when you open up the case, as the inside is flower-shaped. There are spaces for needles and little pockets for small lengths of thread etc. The pattern uses freezer paper to transfer the design to the material before sewing and it was the first time I’ve ever used this technique. It was easy to do. Obviously, simple things please simple minds!

102_3964

102_3965

Having made one needle case I have started a second one and plan to change it very slightly. I think a little bit of customisation makes things more personal don’t you? So I will make the needle case fastening a flower shape rather than a heart. A small change but I hope it will work.

 

