Tags

, ,

“It’s surprising how much memory is built around things unnoticed at the time.”

Barbara Kingsolver

It’s taken me almost a day to make my latest project – an old-fashioned sewing roll. I remember my Grandfather had one. Yes, Granddad did all his own sewing – he darned his socks and sewed buttons on his work shirts when needed.

Here is the pattern I used to make my sewing roll. It’s another pattern from Dandelion Designs. I found it very time-consuming, or maybe I’m just slow, but it was fun to make and I am very pleased with the result.

Image

Believe it or not, it was the the very first time that I have used my sewing machine to insert a zip! I am not a dressmaker. In fact I have avoided zips thinking they were difficult to do. Well, I surprised myself today as it was much easier than I thought.

Image

The pattern has the zipped pocket, three smaller pockets and a padded one running the width of the roll, so there is plenty of space for all my sewing bits and bobs. In the photo can you can see a small black cylinder peeping out of the bottom small pocket? It is a needle holder made from Bakelite which belonged to my Grandfather. I still use it and all my sewing needles, except large bodkins, are stored inside. It has little value except to me as I can picture Granddad, sitting in his armchair in front of the open fire, sewing on a button with a needle from that very case. That memory comes to me every time I do some hand-sewing.

Image

Do you have happy memories come to mind when stitching too?

