Tags

, , ,

I’m excited. I have finally started a new quilt.

It’s a little bit daunting as it will be a double-bed size quilt, a size I have never attempted before. This will be the third quilt I have ever made (discounting the two baby cot quilts I practised with) and it has taken me a long time to find the pattern  that I saw on a Moda internet video. It has lots of applique butterflies in red and blue fabrics and is from Blackbird Designs.


102_3996 102_3994

I then had to source suitable background fabrics and the Meadow fabric for the butterflies. Anyhow, I started today and have made 14 blocks. Not bad you might think? But there are 93 blocks in this pattern and all of them differ. Below you can see the 93 background blocks cut out from yardage, and one completed butterfly.

102_3986

It’s been slow but an enjoyable way to spend a cold day indoors. We’re now on British Summer Time, but we haven’t had our Spring yet! It was sleeting here this morning but nothing stayed on the ground thankfully.

Below are a few more of the butterflies that I have sewn today. It’s a steep learning curve for me as I have not attempted applique before. I’ve quickly learned to use fine thread – having broken the sewing machine needle – and to go slowly with the stitching.

102_3991

I just hope I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew!

 

