Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“Stop wasting your time looking for the key to happiness… the door is open and unlocked… just walk through it.”
― Steve Maraboli

Happiness to me is starting something new. However, I find the finishing off of any project much less enjoyable. My failing is that I am always planning my next idea whilst still working on another. And that’s how I now find myself with four projects that need completing!

Image

Firstly there is the Butterfly Applique Quilt. It has hardly changed at all in the winter months. It’s too cold in my spare bedroom to spend much time there sewing! So I work on more ‘portable’ projects which I can work on in the Lounge where there is a fire to keep me cosy.

The second project is complete except for sewing in all the ends. It is my crochet ripple blanket which was finished before Christmas and has been in use since then as an extra layer on chilly evenings. I am very pleased with it and love the muted colours, but as this is my third such blanket, I will be taking a break from this style of crochet for a while.

Image

Projects three and four, which need sewing up to finish, are woollen cowls. One is a lacy knit in brown Patons Jet wool and alpaca (this yarn was from my stash and I’m not sure if it is still available to buy).

Image

And, finally, a crochet cowl in cream alpaca. I love it! It is sooo soft.

Image

Image

The crochet stitch looks almost like it is knitted. It is very easily achieved by crocheting into the back loop only of the stitches.

I think I need to get started straight away with finishing these –  before I find myself reaching for something new to make!

