Tags

,

“Negative results are just what I want. They’re just as valuable to me as positive results. I can never find the thing that does the job best until I find the ones that don’t.”
― Thomas Edison

 

It’s no good, I cannot sit of an evening without a project to be working upon. Since I completed my last crochet blanket my hands have been idle and I miss creating something. So, for the past few weeks, I’ve been searching for something new, looking for a crochet project that will keep me interested and busy for some time. I have been crocheting on and off for many years, but I am the first to admit that I have not really progressed, for example, I cannot read a diagram pattern, and there are many, many stitches that I have never even attempted. So I’ve been looking for something I have never tried before.

My research efforts brought many different stitches to my attention and the Aligned Puff Stitch looked interesting. But would it make a good blanket?

002

I had to try it and see for myself. To cut a long story short, using leftover yarn, I produced this sample today. It was an experiment but, never wanting to waste good yarn or my precious crafting time, I decided to make these practice rows long enough to cover my Acer Netbook. My sample for this stitch will hopefully work as a cover for the Netbook. Hopefully.

007

Do I like the stitch? Yes I do. It’s not complicated and is just a two row repeat after the foundation row. But it is a stitch with a HUGE appetite for yarn!

It would very expensive to make a large blanket this way. I think I will have to keep looking…….. unless anyone has any ideas?

 

