Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Blessed are the children of the piecemakers…For they shall inherit the quilts!” 

Last weekend I spent two whole days sewing. I managed to piece three quilt tops, although none of them is completely finished, each one still needs a border added before I can quilt them, but for me, that is a record amount of sewing time!

Back in January 2013, I  made my younger daughter a Serendipity Quilt from a video on You Tube by The Missouri Star Quilt Company. Ever since then the ‘waste squares’ from that quilt have sat in the cupboard waiting to be made into Serendipity II Quilt. Talk about slow progress! Anyway, here’s a photo of those pieces finally sewn together to form the Serendipity II quilt top.

Image

And a close-up showing the pattern’s pin-wheel effect. The fabric is by Three Sisters but I can no longer remember the name I’m afraid.

Image

The second quilt top is based upon a more recent MSQC video called The Exploding Block. For this one I used Modern Roses fabric by Stephanie Ryan for Moda. I like her use of fresh citrus colours (photo below) as I’ve always used darker colours before. I used one Layer Cake instead of two as I did not want a large quilt like the one in the video. This pattern really does involve a lot of work but I love the finished blocks.

Image

Finally, I copied yet another MSQC idea, a Christmas Table Runner. Was I getting ahead of myself with a Christmas in April? Probably, but I was making the most of the time I had!

This time I used one Moda white basics charm pack combined with Aspen Frost by Basic Grey. Has anyone spotted that I always seem to use Moda fabrics? And Missouri Star videos?

Image

I apologise for the poor quality of my photos. I really need to find a decent photo editing programme!

I’m sure it will be a long time before I can turn any of these into actual quilts, but I did enjoy getting them this far along.

