Tags

, ,

A clean house is the sign of a broken sewing machine.

I have a couple of days off work and am on the final stages of my Christmas Table Runner, with just the binding to hand sew in place and a few loose threads to sort out. I am pleased with the final result although, with hindsight, I should have made it longer and narrower. I used a charm pack called Aspen Frost by Basic Grey plus a plain white charm pack, both by Moda. The binding is cut from a fat quarter of Christmas fabric in my stash.

Christmas Tumbler Quilt

My youngest daughter is getting married this month. Have I planned ahead and made her a really special wedding quilt? No, I haven’t! Sadly I didn’t even think of it.

Yesterday as I was adding the binding to the sides of the quilt, I suddenly thought that I could give this to the happy couple as an extra gift. I know it’s not specifically for a wedding, but it is a gift that will last a lifetime. Far longer in fact than the one they have asked us to buy for them!

If I were to do that I would add a label to the quilt back with their names and the wedding date.

Christmas Tumbler Quilt

Is that a silly idea? Do you think I should wait until Christmas and give it to them then? I really don’t know what I should do.

 

