Tags

, , , , ,

With time off work at the moment, I am finally able to dedicate some time to crafting. Yippee!

So I have started making some Christmas Gifts. I expect you’ve already begun? If not, here’s a sobering thought, there are only 142 days left until Christmas Day!

003

 

I’m attempting to make some place mats, something I’ve never done before. So far, from a fat quarter of Holiday Stitches fabric I have cut 4 rectangles and the same from some stash fabric for the reverse of the place mats. I recently bought 3 yards of beige bias binding with this project in mind (very cheap but it feels like it unfortunately!) and some medium-weight iron-on fleece.

Today I began by ironing the fleece to the back of the rectangles and pinned the backing fabric to each one. Then (the best bit!) I did freehand quilting over all four mats. Lastly, using a walking foot which coped very well with all the layers, I sewed on the bias binding.

The place mats now need a final pressing and tweaking into shape. One gift off my list and it only cost £4 (£1 per mat) but I thoroughly enjoyed making them.

 

002 004 006

I’m not the most accomplished sewer/quilter but I love the process of planning something, buying what I need and then starting to make it, and as these mats began to take shape, I was very happy in my own little world. Not the neatest sewing you’ve seen or the most original idea but, as long as there’s fun in the making and the recipient likes my gift at Christmas, that is all that really matters.

So, Christmas make number 1 is finished! Next on my festive To Do List are three Cathedral Window pincushions!

Something like these, hopefully, but they will be another first-time make so we will see:

http://www.modabakeshop.com/2012/03/cathedral-window-pincushion.html#more

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

