Tags

, , ,

“When a thing ceases to be a subject of controversy, it ceases to be a subject of interest.”
William Hazlitt

001

Here is another quilt top, finished except for squaring up and having the binding sewn on. Every time I make a quilt I take quite a while to decide how the machine quilting should be done. As I do not own a longarm quilting machine – just a Janome machine with quilting feet – my choice is fairly limited.

002

For this Exploding Block Quilt (the pattern is from a Missouri Star Quilt Company video) I decided that simply doing ‘stitch in the ditch’ around each block was the best way to go. There is so much going on with the exploding blocks themselves and the bold patterns and bright colours of the fabric that anything else would be too much.

I have also decorated the border (below) with simple free-motion quilting.

004

I am going to be controversial here by saying that I sometimes think the Longarm quilt patterns on beautifully crafted quilts can obscure the detail of the quilt itself and confuse the eye. But that is just my opinion. Perhaps if I had one of my quilts decorated by a longarm machine I would be converted. I really don’t know. What I do know is that I am very happy with a simple sewing machine and the process of quilting is always a pleasure for me.

