Tags

,

It is health that is real wealth and not pieces of gold and silver – Mahatma Gandhi

I am conscious that I have been away from here for a long, long time. That’s because I haven’t had any crafty projects to post about and there is a reason for that.

Last summer I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Since then, as anyone with this disease will know, there has been an exhausting, relentless treatment programme which is, sort of, coming to an end now.

I have had many side-effects from the treatment, including two nights in hospital, but overall I think I’ve come off lightly compared to many others and I am grateful for that. Unfortunately my fingers have been affected by the Chemotherapy so that I cannot feel heat or cold and have problems picking things up, so hand-sewing will have to wait a while I think! But I am hopeful things will gradually improve.

Devil's Dyke

Devil’s Dyke, Sussex

The shock of the diagnosis has affected me greatly. It has made me prioritise what is important in my life and make some major changes, including resigning from my very stressful job.

Sometimes in the past few months I’ve wanted to do some crafting but my ability to concentrate has been zero ….. until now …… so my next post will definitely be something more relevant to a crafting blog. See you soon.

