Tags

, , ,

 

There is something beautiful about a blank canvas, the nothingness of the beginning that is so simple and breathtakingly pure. It’s the paint that changes its meaning and the hand that creates the story. Every piece begins the same, but in the end they are all uniquely different. Piper Payne

 

I’ve been itching to start sewing again, but needed a simple project to begin with. So, I have begun by making mug-rugs as gifts for the many friends and work colleagues who have been so supportive and kind over the past seven months. Having previously made place mats for Christmas presents, it’s just a case of making the mats smaller.

I’m using ‘waste’ from my next large quilt project to make the mug-rugs, but more about that later. The Crazy pattern is one I’ve not attempted before but I’m finding it fun and quick to do. The photo below shows a few of the mats in various stages of completion. I thought it a bit mean to give each person one mug-rug so I’m making them in pairs with just the centre fabric panels the same, and for the padding inside I’m using Insul-Brite.

Mug-rugs January 2015

It’s a good scrap-busting pattern and I’m enjoying it so much that I might make some more table mats …… for my own use this time.

I’m not quite ready yet to start a large project, but hopefully soon, so I have tentatively begun. I’m using two ‘Merriment’ charm packs by Moda, along with one of their Solids.

062

I’ve cut the squares (and therefore have scraps for mug-rugs) to make a second Exploding Block Quilt, like this one …..

Pattern from a video by The Missouri Star Quilt Company

Pattern from a video by The Missouri Star Quilt Company

The finished blocks look very complicated but are simple to do, so I thought it would be the ideal pattern for me to start quilting again. I’ll keep you posted.

