“Almost all creativity involves purposeful play. ” Abraham Maslow

IMG_7395

Three Completed Book Covers

A while ago I bought a couple of notebooks and a diary, just £1 each, with an idea that I could cover them and make some cheerful presents.

IMG_7385 - Copy

Detail On The Shabby-Chic Version

IMG_7389

 

IMG_7399

Detail On The Diary Cover

Two of the covers are sewing-themed and the other is ‘shabby chic’. The one with button-patterned material has a handy space on the right of the button band to slot in a pen.

IMG_7386

 

I found them quite simple to make and used some fat quarters, iron-on interfacing and lace, buttons and a decorative pin from my stash. The covers are all removable so they can be reused on a similar size book and I’ve attached a matching bookmark inside each one.

I have a recipient in mind for each book and am quite pleased with how they turned out. Playtime is definitely good for the soul.

