I always like to get started on Christmas gift sewing around July so that I have plenty of time to complete the items if I get distracted by other things, as I almost always do. This year I have been looking for inspiration but had not found any until I saw a fabric panel online with a Christmas theme. The panel contains images of four stylised animals: a stag, polar bear, penguin and what looks like a moose to me.

When the fabric arrived this week I was planning to make bags with long handles but the panels are so large that I had to have a rethink.

The photos below show the results so far and you can see straight away that I decided to make draw-string bags. These bags are large enough to hold all the family’s Christmas gifts, well, all of those that I have bought so far! Each one is fully lined but I still have red cords to thread through the last two before I have completely finished.

In case you are wondering the fabric is Merrily by Moda. I used the Merrily Fabric panel with four 18 x 21.5 inch images, the backing fabric is Merrily Holly and for all the bag linings I used fabric from my own stash.

It has been a fun and very straight-forward project and I found it fairly quick to do. I hope you like the results. Happy Christmas sewing everyone!

